The enigmatic Plain Mister Smith returns with a new EP, ‘New Wave Angst’

Canadian musician Plain Mister Smith released his latest EP, New Wave Angst, through Popoganda Records on February 22nd, 2024, receiving early support from EARMILK. The EP includes singles such as ‘El Presidente’, ‘New Wave Sangfroid’, and ‘Grade Five and the Ax’, highlighting his distinctive fusion of offbeat indie-folk and introspective songwriting. Formerly a member of the Canadian darkwave band Moev, Plain Mister Smith now also performs as a cellist for the Vancouver Philharmonic Orchestra. His music has garnered attention from various publications including CLASH Mag, NOTION Mag, Under The Radar Mag, EARMILK, NOCTIS Mag, METAL Mag, and Atwood Mag.

‘New Wave Angst’ presents a diverse mix of genres, appealing to fans of quirky indie folk reminiscent of Neutral Milk Hotel, Sufjan Stevens, Elliot Smith, and José González. Plain Mister Smith’s unique style is evident in his varied arrangements, distinct vocals, and sincere yet witty lyrics, showcased from the wandering harmonies of ‘El Presidente’ to the fusion of New Wave rhythms and acoustic elements in ‘New Wave Sangfroid’.

Plain Mister Smith shared: “The songs on this EP all touch on existential angst in one form or another. Whether it’s about the trials and tribulations of scraping by as fledging indie band (‘New Wave Sangfroid’), or as a tiny indie label (‘El Presidente’) or exploding with feelings of claustrophobia (‘Run, Fly or Sail’), these songs touch on pulling through by hook or by crook…”

Follow Plain Mister Smith:

FacebookX SoundcloudTikTokYoutubeInstagramSpotify

cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail